Mizani D’tangle

I got a full-sized bottle of this leave-in conditioner by filling out a form on the company’s website. I was disappointed in the unnecessarily huge box they used to ship this product but whatever.

Anyway, here are the claims of the “multiple benefits” of this product’s use: 1. adds instant softness and slip; 2. helps gently detangle fragile, wet hair; 3. enhances hair’s elasticity; 4. delivers heat-protection; 5. helps reduce friction during brushing and combing; 6. helps fortify hair to prevent breakage; 7. controls frizz, static and flyaways; 8. helps prevent split ends; 9. can be used alone or as a foundation for styling; 10. lightweight results without residue or dulling coating.

Let’s see how well this product delivered on it’s claims. First, I’ll tell you how I used it. I pre-poo’d my hair with Jarrow’s Formula coconut oil (purchased from Whole Foods). I shampooed and conditioned my hair with Herbal Essences Long Term Relationship. I also protein treated my hair with Joico K-Pak Reconstructor (review here). I used the Mizani D’tangle as a leave-in/heat-protector prior to blow-drying. I flat-ironed with my FHI and I also used Tresemme Heat Tamer spray for that final step.

D’tangle has a light, pleasant scent. As promised, my hair did not feel coated and there was no dulling to my shine. This is surprising because the formula is not clear; it’s a milky white. Combing through was no problem and my hair did not feel sticky, as some heat protectors tend to do. I was very satisfied with my post-blowdry results: soft, silky, managable hair.

FYI: my last relaxer was on May 27th using PCJ Pretty and Silky No-Lye Relaxer (Regular).

My Rating: A+

After Blow Drying

After Blow Drying

About Antithesis

...passionate about makeup.
This entry was posted in hair, Reviews and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Mizani D’tangle

  1. Tea says:

    I did the big two-strand twists again with Motions leave in. I also did a homemade deep conditioner (olive oil and honey microwaved, and then I add eggs). My hair was much more moisturized, but still like soft and fluffy like I like it. I may need to clip my ends or perhaps I just need a heavier moisturizer. I like the big, wild hair though, so I’ll keep trying and keep my eye open for this Mizani leave-in. You’re turning me in to a product junkie too.

    • Antithesis says:

      i did the olive oil/honey thing when i was natural, too. it was something i just wasnt comfy doing when i got back in my mom’s house. she constantly complains about concoctions and kitchen stuff in the bathroom and blah blah blah. as far as moisturizer, my favorite is silken child silk moisturizer. it’s in a pink/fuschia bottle with a pump and i get it from sally’s. it is light. for something heavy, i’ll get back to you. my niece has a nice one from carol’s daughter.

Leave a Reply

